Win for Skryne over Oldcastle | Skryne GFC
Admin Login

Win for Skryne over Oldcastle

By josephobrien Sun 23rd Mar


Skryne 2 – 14; Oldcastle 0 – 7

This A league div. 1 match was played in Skryne on Sunday afternoon in brilliant conditions. Both teams needed the points after previous defeats in this competition.  However, it was Skryne who  took both with a comprehensive victory over North Meath side Oldcastle.  Oldcastle’s cause was not helped as they were down to fourteen men after just five minutes when their centre half back was sent off for a needless tackle on Paddy O’Rourke.  After that, both sides set about playing football and it was Oldcastle who were first to score with six minutes gone.    Points from Kevin Mulvany and O’Rourke had Skryne ahead by the twelfth minute and with sixteen minutes gone Mulvany was brought down within the square for a penalty which Ian Davis put away perfectly.  Oldcastle responded with two points, to make it a two point game midway through the second quarter.   However the half was finished out with further points from Mark Battersby, who notched up six for the day, and Paddy O’Rourke leaving the half time score at Skryne 1 – 4, Oldcastle 0 -3.

Further points from Mulvany (2), Ian Davis, Battersby(3) brought the score to Skryne 1 – 10 Oldcastle 0 – 4 with thirty eight minutes on the clock. Then with forty one minutes gone Ian Davis took a pass on the run and slotted it past the Oldcastle goalkeeper.  The match was as good as over as a contest at this point but Oldcastle still tried to make a game of it and on forty seven minutes Paddy Gilsenan was put through for a goal chance but his shot was saved brilliantly by Ian Gillett in the Skryne goals. However Oldcastle did add on a further three points that were countered by four from Skryne.

Final Score Skryne 2 – 14; Oldcastle 0 – 7

Skryne: I.Gillett, N. Lenehan, C. Lenehan, D, Morley, D. McGoldrick, T, McKeown, S. O’ Brien, A. Tuite, H. Rooney, C. O’Brien, P. O’Rourke (2), I. Davis (2 -2)), K. Mulvany (3), B Davis (1), M. Battersby(6).

Subs: R McCabe for N. Leneghan, C. Byrne for C. O’Brien, T Farnan for S. O’Brien, M. Mulvany for D McGoldrick, D Lynch for B. Davis

Referee: Paul Mooney, Meath Hill

Related News

Main Sponsor

Proud to be part of