Skryne Scrape Past Duleek- Bellewstown | Skryne GFC
Admin Login

Skryne Scrape Past Duleek- Bellewstown

By josephobrien Sat 28th Jul


A solitary point was all that separated Skryne from Duleek/Bellewstown in this high scoring A League game in Bellewstown on Thursday evening.  Skryne were very much in control in the early stages and reeled off the first five scores with points from Davis, Barrersby (2), McGoldrick and Tuite.  Duleek however scored the next five to draw level with twelve minutes gone.  Skryne then pulled away again with further points from Battersby (3) and Davis (2) and with twenty three minutes gone were ten points to six ahead.  However Duleek Bellewstown’s next score was a goal which left only the minimum between the sided. Ian Davis tagged on another two for Skryne and Duleek/Bellewstown responded with one of their own.  Skryne seemed to have the game in control again but a good ball forward after a superb catch by Martin Maulvan at full back, which should have reaped dividends for Skryne was misread by their attack and from the clearance former Meath player Pete Curran raced through the defence and scored another goal for the East Meath side leaving them ahead by 2 – 7 to 0 – 12 at the break.


Aidan Tuite levelled matters after the break but Duleek Bellewstown went two points ahead again with 38 minutes gone.   David McGoldrick sent one over from a 45 and Ian Davis drew the game level from a free.  Duleek Bellewstown put over another to go one in front again but points from Battersby, Kevin O’ Reilly, McCabe and McGoldrick, put Skryne three points ahead with normal time up.  However, referee Paul Mooney played a further 4 minutes broken play and Duleek Bellewstown scored a further two points to leave only one point between them at the end.  However they could not get the equalizing point before time ran out.  Final score Skryne 0 – 19, Duleek Bellwestown 2 – 12.


Skryne – F. O’Rourke, D. Brennan, M Mulvany, D Morley, J. Looby, A. Carty, J Hegarty,  A Tuite( 2), D. McGoldrick (3), D Lynch, I. Davis (6), C. Byrne, R McCabe (1), J Jordan,  M. Battersby (6). Subs J. Quinn  for Lynch(46 min), N. Burke for Jordan (56 min), D. Brennan for McKeown (35 min), K. Reilly (1) for Morley(48 min) T Farnan for Byrne (57)


Referee: –  Paul Mooney Meath Hill


Related News

Main Sponsor

Proud to be part of