Skryne Defaet Dunshaughlin | Skryne GFC
Admin Login

Skryne Defaet Dunshaughlin

By josephobrien Sat 25th Feb

Impressive win for skryne in their 75th year of unbroked Senior Football

Skryne 0-14

Dunshaughlin 0-9

 Skryne turned in an impressive performance against neighbours and Keegan cup finalists, Dunshaughlin, to win an emphatic victory at home yesterday. Played in almost perfect conditions, with neither wind or rain, the Skryne men went into the break with a five point lead at 8 pts to 3. However they did not have it all their own way after the resumption and Dunshaughlin posted the next four points with scores fromMurphy (2) O’Dwyer and Devereux, to leave just one point in it after 40 minutes. The Skryne men decided however that they were not going down in this their first match of the season, and in their home ground. Points from Davis, O’Rourke, Byrne and substitute David Ryan resulted in Skryne outscoring their opponents by 6 pts to 2 for the remainder of the match. The game ended with Skryne five points ahead. Despite the score at the end this was a tightly fought game with both sides producing very attractive football and some very well taken scores.

This is the Skryne club’s 75th year in unbroken Senior football and if yesterday’s performance is anything to go by then they will take some beating in this years competitions. There of course a lot of football to be played between now and the end of the year and no team is immune from things going wrong However, yesterday in Skryne Barney Rock’s charges certainly showed that this year they are up for it.

Best for Skryne were Ian Davis, Bryan Byrne, and Kieran Lenehan.

Skryne: Felim O’Rourke, Mark Jordan ,Martin Mulvany, Declan Morley, Paddy Fox, Ciaran Lenehan, James Hegarty, David McGoldrick, Aidan Tuite, Kevin O’Reilly, Ian Davis (6), Brian Byrne (1), Kevin Mulvany, Paddy O’Rourke (5), Mark Battersby (1), Subs – Alan Carty for Mark Jordan, David Ryan (1) for Kevin O’Reilly


Dunshaughlin – Ronan Gogan, Alastar Doyle, Kenny McTigue, Fearghal Delaney, Kevin Ward, Caoimhin King, Denis Kealy, John Crimmins, Ray Maloney, Fergus Toolan (1), Trevor Dowd (2), Conor Devereux (2), Eoin Hagarty, Niall Murphy (3), Cathal O’Dwyer (1). Substitutes – Tommy Johnson for Ward, Emmet Staunton for Hagarty.

By josephobrien Sat 25th Feb

Related News

Main Sponsor

Proud to be part of